Do I have to have a prescription for physical therapy?
Virginia State Law allows physical therapists with “Direct Access Certification” to see patients for thirty business days without a physician’s prescription. The patient must name a physician with whom the therapist may communicate, and the patient must agree that they will see their physician if their condition does not improve after the thirty business days of evaluation and treatment. While Virginia State Law allows for this direct access, some insurance plans require a physician’s prescription. If you desire to be seen through direct access, our office will call your insurance company to determine whether or not your insurance plan requires you to have a physician’s prescription.
Do you have Direct Access?
All our therapists are Direct Access Providers.
Will my insurance cover physical therapy at Berryville Physical Therapy?
We accept most insurances, including Blue Cross, Medicare and several others. When you call to schedule your appointment, our qualified staff will verify your insurance to determine your coverage. We also have great self pay rates and payment plans available.
Once my insurance does pay, how much will I owe?
Your costs will depend upon your insurance policy’s deductible and co pays. For your convenience, we will contact your insurance company to determine your benefits. We also encourage you to call and verify your insurance coverage to avoid any possible discrepancies.
If I am injured on the job, does Berryville Physical Therapy accept Worker’s Compensation Insurance?
Yes, Berryville Physical Therapy does accept Worker’s Comp. Once we receive authorization from your employer for physical therapy, we can schedule your initial evaluation for treatment.
I have a busy schedule, when are you open for treatment?
We have convenient hours of operation no matter your schedule.
All of our facilities are open: Monday-Friday from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm.
What will I need to have with me for my first appointment?
You will need to come with your signed written prescription from your physician (or your direct access form), your driver’s license, your insurance card(s), form of payment, and appropriate attire. (see next question)
What should I wear for therapy?
Please come prepared. You’ll want to wear shorts or sweat pants, tennis shoes, and a loose shirt (such as a sweat or t-shirt, or in some cases a tank top for shoulder evaluations).
Who will I see for my appointments?
You will be seen and treated by a licensed physical therapist or licensed physical therapist assistant at every one of your appointments. Because we work in teams, it is likely that you will see one of two therapists.
How long will my appointments last?
The duration of each of your appointments depends upon your diagnosis, as well as the treatment recommendation of your physician and therapist. Typically you can expect to be seen 2-3 times per week for 45min to an hour.
Overall, how long will I be in therapy?
Again, the duration of your therapy treatment is based on several factors. These include your diagnosis, the number of visits recommended by your physician and therapist, your attendance, and your rate of progression during therapy. Treatment can range from 2 to 4 weeks or even up to 3 to 4 months, depending on these factors.
Who do I contact about billing questions?
Our friendly, patient, highly trained billing staff will be more than happy to answer any questions you have regarding your bill, from your balance to your insurance coverage. Please feel free to ask for Heather Hackworth, you can contact her by phone on (540) 990-2273 or email her at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any billing questions.
Patient Right: Estimate of Cost of Services
Berryville Physical Therapy & Wellness will provide all patients who do not have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for therapy services. Please retain a copy of your “Good Faith Estimate” (GFE) quote.
- Our initial estimate will be for the cost of the first visit, which will be for the evaluation. This estimate will be provided to you at least one (1) business day prior to the evaluation or prior to scheduling, if you prefer.
- Before commencing with a treatment, a second estimate will be provided to you based on the established Plan of Care. If your Plan of Care needs modification during the episode of care because of your therapy needs, a new condition, or per your request, you will be informed and provided with a new estimate, and you will have the option to continue or cease treatments.
- If you receive a bill that is $400 or more than the “Good Faith Estimate,” you can dispute the bill utilizing the Patient-Provider Dispute Resolution Process. The dispute resolution entities (SDR) are certified and selected by Health & Human Services (HHS). You must submit a dispute notice, the provider’s bill, and the “Good Faith Estimate” to HHS within 120 days of receiving the final bill from our practice. HHS will collect a $25 fee with your dispute resolution application.
If you have any other questions you can call us at 540-955-1837, email us at email@example.com, or stop into our office during regular business hours. We are happy to help you!